Google+
Ralph Morrow's - "Armchair Comment"
Sunday, October 7, 2012
Add to FacebookAdd to Twitter
Infield Fly Rule simple -- so call it right

Many years ago, someone asked me to explain the Infield Fly Rule. If memory serves me correctly, I did a remarkable job.

To me, it's a very simple baseball rule. With one or no outs and runners at first and second or the bases loaded, if the batter hits a popup that an infielder might be expected to camp under, the batter is out whether the infielder catches the ball or not....

For the complete article, please pick up a copy of The Citizen for this day or purchase this day's electronic edition at http://secure.floridakeys.com/keysnews/enews. Home Delivery & Electronic Edition subscibers to The Citizen may access this article, once logged in to keysnews.com, at no charge. If you forget your password, please call us at 305-292-7777, ext. 4.