MONROE COUNTY -- The Monroe County Environmental Education Advisory Council is accepting nominations for the 10th Environmental Education Teacher Award.

This award has been established to recognize outstanding full-time Monroe County teachers who incorporate environmental education into their academic lessons and use a multidisciplinary approach to meet student learning goals.

To be eligible for the award, nominees must hold a teaching certificate and be teaching in a Monroe public, charter or private school. There are two categories: elementary K-5 and secondary 6-12.

Administrators, teachers, students and community members may submit nominations. Self nominations are also accepted. The only requirement is to complete a short nomination form available at Photos and other evidence of teacher projects are encouraged.

All completed nomination forms must be postmarked by March 21. Email completed nominations to or mail them to Monroe County Environmental Education Advisory Council, Attn: EE Teacher of the Year Award, P.O. Box 430397, Big Pine Key, Fla. 33043.