Saturday, February 15, 2014
Mile Markers


Advisory Council seeks nominations for great teachers

The Monroe County Environmental Education Advisory Council (MCEEAC) will recognize outstanding full-time Monroe County teachers who incorporate environmental education into their academic lessons, utilizing a multidisciplinary approach to meet student learning goals.

To be eligible for the award, nominees must hold a teaching certificate and be teaching in a Monroe public, charter or private school. There are two categories: elementary K-5 and secondary 6-12.

Administrators, teachers, students and community members are urged to submit nominations. Self nominations are also accepted. The only requirement is to complete a short nomination form available at the MCEEAC website at, or by contacting MCEEAC teacher representative Katrina Madok at

Photos and other evidence of teacher projects are encouraged.

Completed nomination forms can be emailed to 2014 Environmental Education Award at, or mailed to Monroe County Environmental Education Advisory Council, Attn: EE Teacher of the Year Award, P.O. Box 430397, Big Pine Key, FL 33043.

Nominations must be received by March 21.

Names of the award winners will be announced before the end of the school year.

A MCEEAC representative will present the winners with an environmental plaque and a cash award.


2 committee openings

The Florida Keys Council of the Arts has two openings on the Cultural Umbrella Committee of the Tourist Development Council (TDC).

The District 2 seat covers the area between Key West and the Seven Mile Bridge, and the District 5 seat covers Mile Marker 90 to the Dade/Monroe County line. Members serve a three-year term starting Oct. 1.

Persons wishing to be considered may send a letter and resume by March 3 to Elizabeth Young, Florida Keys Council of the Arts, 1100 Simonton St., Suite #2-263, Key West, FL 33040, or by email to