Wednesday, April 2, 2014
Mile Markers

FLORIDA KEYS

Citizen's Police Academies date set

The Monroe County Sheriff's Office will hold its next Citizen's Police Academies starting May 6 through June 24. The academy is for people interested in learning about law enforcement and the Monroe County Sheriff's Office.

Attendees will spend one night a week between 6 to 9 p.m. attending classes and participate in at least one ride-along with a deputy during the academy period.

In the Upper Keys, classes will meet every Tuesday at the Roth Building on Plantation Key; Middle Keys, Wednesdays at the sheriff's office aviation hanger in Marathon; and Thursdays at the sheriff's headquarters building on Stock Island in the Lower Keys.

Space is limited and reservations are necessary.

For Upper Keys, call Capt. Don Fanelli, 305-853-3211 or dfanelli@keysso.net, or Capt. Corey Bryan, 305-664-6480 or cbryan@keysso.net; Middle Keys, Capt. Gene Thompson, gthompson@keysso.net or Lt. Derek Paul, dpaul@keysso.net, 305-289-2430; and Lower Key, Capt. Don Hiller, 305-745-3184 or dhiller@keysso.net

MARATHON

Sexual predator arrested

A man listed as a violent sexual predator in Illinois and Minnesota was arrested Friday by responding to a trespassing call at Gulfside Village, 5800 Overseas Highway, according to the Monroe County Sheriff's Office.

Alan Bruce Robinson, 49, reportedly gave false names multiple times and could not remember his Social Security number before deputies were able to identify him as using the Minnesota Predatory Offender Registry.

Robinson also has warrants out of Minnesota. He was charged with resisting arrest, giving a false name to a law enforcement officer and failing to register as a sexual offender.

Robinson was sleeping behind Gulfside Village when he was found, reports say.

KEY WEST

City plan workshop

The city will host a public workshop from 6 to 7:30 p.m. Thursday at the Harvey Government Center to discuss proposed updates to the city's comprehensive plan.

Several aspects of the plan are being reviewed and updated, including the port, historic preservation and the local water supply.

In addition, staff is proposing amendments to address climate change.

Residents who want to comment but cannot attend the meeting may contact planner Nicole Malo at nmalo@keywestcity.com.