Friday, April 4, 2014

Congressman Dante Fascell, Florida Secretary of State Tom Adams, County Mayor Gerald Saunders, Key West Mayor Kermit Lewin and Key West Postmaster Clyde Stickney dedicated the new Flagler Branch Post Office.

Sen. John Spottswood reported that Monroe County 41.42 miles of roadwork costing $2,117,930 was being contracted by the state Road Department.

J.J. Pinder, Mary Trevor, Capt. O.A. Sandquist, Mrs. R.L. Lindabury and Mrs. Millie Conner were elected to the board of directors of the newly formed Dade-Monroe Tuberculosis and Respiratory Disease Association. .

The Convent Alumni Association reported its 55th reunion was held March 30 in the banquet room of the Town House Motor Inn. Minnie Roberts Simmons and Effie Roberts Perez were celebrating their Golden Jubilee graduation with the class of 1914. They were given an engraved gold cross and chain to mark the occasion.